The 2016 Rondo Hatton Award nominations have been announced- and I’m on the ballot!

A few days ago, the Rondo Hatton Awards committee released their 2016 ballot.

I was sitting on our couch with my wife, still buzzing about the newest The Walking Dead episode that saw two of our favorite characters finally knock boots. It is always awesome to see friends and colleagues get recognition, especially for something as prestigious as a Rondo Hatton Award, and as I scrolled through the ballot categories, my heart suddenly dropped down to my ankles.

Category 12, Best Article. The articles were culled from publications all over the globe, most of them incredibly respected magazines that I had spent many days of my youth pouring over and ditching homework to read cover to cover. Then I saw it.

“Remembering Sir Christopher Lee”, by Justin Hamelin, Ravenous Monster.

I was in shock. I never imagined being in the same conversation as the talented journalists from Fangoria, Rue Morgue, Diabolique and Famous Monsters. What an absolute honor.

Rondologo_zps85eef8af

I’ve never written for money or recognition, but if one article or essay of mine was going to be recognized as a worthy award winner, I am damn proud it is this one.  I wrote the piece as if the good Count Dooku himself was going to be reading it. Whether you know him as Hammer Studio’s Dracula, the terrifying Lord Summerisle in The Wicker Man or Count Dooku in the Star Wars franchise, Sir Christopher Lee was a true cinema icon who transcended genre. He was also one of the nicest men in Hollywood and widely considered one of the most versatile actors of all time. The tribute I wrote was a true labor of love and a piece I am damn proud of. To be nominated for my first writing award ever for a piece I so truly love is really special to me. I was a wreck when I turned it in to Jason Thorson, RavMon’s editor-in-chief. He gave it the thumbs up and off it went into the cyber-world. It was received warmly and I felt as if I had done Sir Lee justice.

I also was ecstatic to see that Ravenous Monster was nominated for Best Website in Category 16!  Mr. Thorson does an incredible job of keeping the site running smoothly and full of fantastic content that he collects from a number of fantastic writers from across the globe.

To be nominated for an award that is the equivalent of a horror Academy Award is quite the thrill for me. These awards are voted on by horror fans for horror fans.

I couldn’t have done it without the amazing readers and wonderful friends and family that have supported me since day one of my horror writing career, some four and a half years ago.

I’m not a fan of asking for mass support, however, it would mean the world to me if you could take a moment out of your day to vote for my article.

It’s actually quite easy to vote and you’d honestly be doing me an incredible favor of kindness that I would never forget.

Simply email taraco@aol.com with the subject line “HATTON AWARD NOMINATION”

In the email body, just copy and paste the following email:

 

 

“Dear Mr. Colton,

 

I would like to cast my vote in the Rondo Hatton Awards for Justin Hamelin’s article ‘Remembering Sir Christopher Lee’ in category 12, BEST ARTICLE.

 

I would also like to vote for Ravenous Monster for BEST WEBSITE in category 16.

Thank you, 
YOUR NAME HERE”

PLEASE do not forget to include your name at the end of the email vote. Votes will not count if a name is not included in the email body. This keeps people from sending multiple votes in at once.

Thank you so much for your time, consideration and- hopefully- vote.

Sincerely,

Justin Hamelin

 

Leave a Reply

