The Pumpkin Man: Sowing the seeds of terror, one pumpkin patch at a time!

image1

With the best time of year upon us, most of you will begin searching for the perfect pumpkin over the next few weeks.  Should you be at the right place at the right time, you may get more than you bargained for!  For The Pumpkin Man is trudging through the patches across the country, delivering scares and selfie photo ops to all of his Halloween loving children!

The Pumpkin Man is one of the most recognizable horror hosts in the nation, delivering up classic horror films on his show Fright Night Theater, which debuted in 2011.  He is also a regular on the horror convention circuit and loves nothing more than spreading the dread all year round!

Recently, I had a chance to catch up with the fun-loving, walking gourd and chat about the spooky world of The Pumpkin Man!

 


MANGLED MATTERS:  You’ve been a horror icon since the Pagan era.  To what do you attribute your vitality and youthful exuberance for terror to?

THE PUMPKIN MAN:  Scaring keeps me youthful!  I find such joy horrifying people!

 


MM:  What is a typical Halloween night like for The Pumpkin Man?

PM:  A typical Halloween night for The Pumpkin Man is unlike any you have ever seen!  I lay in wait for all those who would dare carve my pumpkin minions!  I always say “One of these days, we are gonna carve back”! (laughs)

 


MM:  Has there been one episode of your show in particular that is especially memorable for you?

PM:  All my shows stand out to me one way or another.  The Pumpkin Man enjoys showing the worst, I mean the greatest, horror movies of all time!

 

The Pumpkin Man and Svengoolie!

The Pumpkin Man and Svengoolie!


MM:  Let’s play a round of this or that..

  1. Freddy or Jason? Freddy!
  2. trick or treat? Trick!
  3. remake or sequel? Sequel!
  4. Universal or Hammer? Universal!

 


MM:  What are you cooking up for this year’s Halloween season on Fright Night Theater?

PM:  The Pumpkin Man can’t wait for his new Halloween show!  I’ve got some really cool things to show the kiddies!  Some really cool announcements are coming in October, as well, so stay tuned!

 


MM:  Spill the pumpkin seeds a little bit- what is one thing that most people would be surprised to learn about The Pumpkin Man?

PM:  I’ll spill the seeds just this once!  I guess what would shock my fans the most is my love for classic Three Stooges and Boris Karloff Thriller episodes!  I can’t get enough of them!  The Stooges are pure genius and Thriller still creeps me out late at night and I’m The Pumpkin Man!  I also have a deep love for Kung Fu flicks!  Nothing like watching Bruce Lee kick ass!

Art by Brian Maze

Art by Brian Maze


MM:  If you were hosting an all-night horror movie marathon, what movies are you picking and why?

PM:  If I was hosting a movie marathon, I would show the classics- Dracula, Frankenstein, The Wolf Man,The Creature From The Black Lagoon, Abbott Costello Meet Frankenstein!  Reason?  Because these movies are pure awesomeness and I think the little kiddies should know who laid down the foundations of horror!  If not for these horror heavyweights, there would be no Freddy Krueger, Michael Myers, Jason Vorhees, Chucky, Jeepers Creepers, or Victor Crowley!

 


MM:  Where can fans see you over the next few months?

PM:  Fans can see The Pumpkin Man this October roaming the pumpkin patches throughout the country, so beware! Also you can catch me over on Youtube.  Plus The Pumpkin Man will be attending Nightmare on Chicago Street in Elgin, Illinois on October 24th and Days of The Dead: Chicago, on Nov 20th through the 22nd!

 

image4

 

Leave a Reply

